First I do apologize for my lack of blogs. I was on a roll then had to place it on the back burner during a HELL like move. Don't worry folks I'm back, and trust me I have more questions and concerns than ever. Hmm where shall I start on this gloomy Tuesday,
Well although most are already aware that I don't agree with the current system, and clearly I'm outspoken and don't hold back. I have many concerns with this government. Now with the election over and hopefully not having to do another one for a couple years this was a touchy subject. Normally I swing Liberal. However when it comes to my family and children's futures I do agree with the conservative party. Now if we want to be totally honest and lay everything on the table. I don't think any party should have the power to say whether a person can or can't marry another person. I also don't think they should look at your sexual preference when deciding if you can adopt. I know a lot of same sex parents that honestly are doing a better job than some of the "straight" families. Their divorce rate is lower than hetero marriages, ect ect. However, In other provinces that are Conservative lead they have "School of Choice", "Chartered" and many other options. So with that being said, it was clear that in this PROVINCE Conservative won leaving 1 Liberal and 2 NDP running. Does that mean we might actually see a change? In all fairness and reality most likely not. The biggest problem is education. People who aren't dealing with it on a day to day base have no clue the problems that parents of special need children go through. Although we have a inclusion policy and there are rules and guidelines that are suppose to be met, they aren't. Somehow school officials have found loop holes and the general public is left in the dark.
As many are aware my son was in a rural school and got NOTHING. Even when switching schools the new school was SHOCKED that he has had nothing. NO SPEECH, NO OT, NO EA'S nothing. Even though both the specialist and doctor clearly stated. We had St Amant step in and give the school tips and ideas. Everything was shut down. Now we've been at our new locations for "7 school days" and it's amazing the difference. First day of daycare he has a 1-1 worker with him at all times, there is a general EA in the class, as well as his EA who works with him and another child. He is getting BT and ST daily. Not long period but close to 20 minutes for each therapy. So you ask what's the problem? Honest to god we live 11 minutes by car from his old school. We are one division over, we're separated by a highway. Still in the same province yet totally different. Anyone pick up on the problem yet? in the province of Manitoba there is a "Inclusion Policy", standard policies and bi-laws that ALL schools are meant to follow. No school or division should be any different than another. Yet by driving 11 minutes we went from hell to what appears to be heaven(might still be a lil cloudy from the drive..lol). Here's the other funny part. We're now in a LARGER school, with almost 4times the students as his last, a division that has 3 times as many schools as the last division so how is it that a smaller school, smaller classes weren't able to help but large one can?
Now I'm not holding my breath that things will remain perfect like I said I might still be seeing cloud from the drive, but the change has had a POSITIVE impact on my child. I'm not saying every parent should pack up and move to Pembina Trails as believe me I've had problems with them in the past, but for a province that is suppose to have policies that cover the entire province, why the difference? Parents shouldn't have to move. We have to deal with enough life changes, changing postal codes really shouldn't be one that is thrown on the list.
As you've read before one big problem is staff isn't trained. Why you ask? Good question. From researching between myself and my beautiful friend Lou we've discovered a lot of things as per training. Here's a couple. You need to be trained to become a doctor, and the province will even help pay for your school if you agree to stay here. Certain ethnic backgrounds are also given a break when it comes to schooling. If you go the childcare field the province will assist you in your tuition and schooling as childcare is a major shortage here. Want to do a trade? No problem they will help with that as well. Here's a funny one. If your a hooker,(Oh yes Lou I'm going there) they will pay for you to become a Social Worker and give you a job with a Government Agency once you've completed your training. Well on a side note I have always wanted to be a social worker and help teens and families however the 4+years of schooling at high costs per year have made me place that on a back burner, but if I decide to sell myself on the corner of Ellice I can go for free? Really sign me up. So let's recap a bit to catch everyone up to the point. Doctors=ok, trade=ok, hookers=ok, People who hold our child's future in their hands=nothing. Yes that's right. There is NO incentive for teachers, EA's, Speech, OT, NOTHING. hmmm also are you aware most EAs have NO pension, NO benefits and NO RRSP through work? Yup the dedicate their lives to helping our children and come old age, they are screwed. Not to mention if you care about the children you are helping and you want to take some extra courses so your PROPERLY TRAINED for these kids it comes out of your POCKET. Let's face it, EAs and Teachers aren't raking in the 6 figure salaries like the superintendents yet they are suppose to pay out of pocket to be trained to do the job that they are hired for. When I asked our previous Resource teacher why staff weren't trained she stated "there's too many different disabilities, and it would take too much time and too much money." Seriously? So the province wants us parents to place our children in the public school system, have tax payers pay for it, yet they aren't going to have trained professionals to teach our children? Would you take your dyeing dog to a hairdresser because a trained VET would be too much? How about your aunt suffering from Cancer, why not take her to McDonald's? I know that's a little extreme but that's sadly the Manitoba Way.
So until next time, trust me there will be a next time take care, and thank you Lou for allowing me to vent my feelings
Wendy
Tuesday, May 10, 2011
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment